Information on:

Studio Place Arts

201 North Main Street
802-479-7069

Back in 1998, a group of artists seeking a site for a community arts space were approached by the Barre Historical Society to rescue one of the oldest buildings on Main Street in Barre City, the Nichols Block, from demolition.  Fire and other neglect had harmed the Nichols Block and the costs to renovate the building appeared to be prohibitive.  A financial package was successfully assembled, a certified historic renovation plan was developed, renovations were completed, and SPA was born.

SPA proudly opened its doors in November, 2000.  From its early days, SPA was viewed as providing a threefold benefit to the region:  Economic development, cultural enrichment, and community service.

Barre City is an ideal location for SPA because it is a city that has a lively cultural history due to the many artisans who relocated to the community from Europe to carve a locally available stone, the high-quality Barre gray granite.  Historically nearly all of the resource extraction, manufacturing jobs, and creative, skilled work in Barre were connected to the local stone carving tradition.

SPA has become an important regional resource for art making, learning and exhibition, and is committed to providing dynamic programs for people around central and northern Vermont.  We look forward to continuing to develop our creative institution.



Studio Place Arts is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at Studio Place Arts

Celebrate

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Thursday, Nov 22, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Friday, Nov 23, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Saturday, Nov 24, 2018 from 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Wednesday, Nov 28, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Thursday, Nov 29, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Friday, Nov 30, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Saturday, Dec 1, 2018 from 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Tuesday, Dec 4, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Wednesday, Dec 5, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Thursday, Dec 6, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Friday, Dec 7, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Saturday, Dec 8, 2018 from 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Thursday, Dec 13, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Friday, Dec 14, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Saturday, Dec 15, 2018 from 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Thursday, Dec 20, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Friday, Dec 21, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Saturday, Dec 22, 2018 from 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Celebrate

Thursday, Dec 27, 2018 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
Barre, VT
Read More »

Photos