Information on:

Shelburne Museum

Shelburne Museum
6000 Shelburne Road
802-985-3346

Located in Vermont's scenic Lake Champlain valley, Shelburne Museum is one of the nation's finest, most diverse, and unconventional museums of art and Americana. Over 150,000 works are exhibited in a remarkable setting of 39 exhibition buildings, 25 of which are historic and were relocated to the Museum grounds.

Impressionist paintings, folk art, quilts and textiles, decorative arts, furniture, American paintings, and a dazzling array of 17th-to 20th-century artifacts are on view. Shelburne is home to the finest museum collections of 19th-century American folk art, quilts, 19th- and 20th-century decoys, and carriages.

Electra Havemeyer Webb (1888-1960) was a pioneering collector of American folk art and founded Shelburne Museum in 1947. The daughter of H.O. and Louisine Havemeyer, important collectors of European and Asian art, she exercised an independent eye and passion for art, artifacts, and architecture celebrating a distinctly American aesthetic.

When creating the Museum she took the imaginative step of collecting 18th- and 19th-century buildings from New England and New York in which to display the Museum's holdings, relocating 20 historic structures to Shelburne. These include houses, barns, a meeting house, a one-room schoolhouse, a lighthouse, a jail, a general store, a covered bridge, and the 220-foot steamboat Ticonderoga.

In Shelburne Mrs. Webb sought to create "an educational project, varied and alive." What visitors experience at Shelburne is unique: remarkable collections exhibited in a village-like setting of historic New England architecture, accented by a landscape that includes over 400 lilacs, a circular formal garden, herb and heirloom vegetable gardens, and perennial gardens.

The Museum's collections, educational programs, special events, workshops, activities, and special exhibitions constantly offer new perspectives on four centuries of art and material culture, assuring visitors a museum experience unlike any other.



Shelburne Museum is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at Shelburne Museum

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Aug 24, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Aug 25, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Monday, Aug 26, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Tuesday, Aug 27, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Wednesday, Aug 28, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Thursday, Aug 29, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Friday, Aug 30, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Aug 31, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Sep 1, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Monday, Sep 2, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Tuesday, Sep 3, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Wednesday, Sep 4, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Thursday, Sep 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Friday, Sep 6, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Sep 7, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Sep 8, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Monday, Sep 9, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Tuesday, Sep 10, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Wednesday, Sep 11, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Thursday, Sep 12, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Friday, Sep 13, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Sep 14, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Sep 15, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Monday, Sep 16, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Tuesday, Sep 17, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Wednesday, Sep 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Thursday, Sep 19, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Friday, Sep 20, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Sep 21, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Sep 22, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Monday, Sep 23, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Tuesday, Sep 24, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Wednesday, Sep 25, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Thursday, Sep 26, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Friday, Sep 27, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Sep 28, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Sep 29, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Monday, Sep 30, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Tuesday, Oct 1, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Wednesday, Oct 2, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Thursday, Oct 3, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Friday, Oct 4, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Oct 5, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Oct 6, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Monday, Oct 7, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Tuesday, Oct 8, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Wednesday, Oct 9, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Thursday, Oct 10, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Friday, Oct 11, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Oct 12, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Oct 13, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Monday, Oct 14, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Tuesday, Oct 15, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Wednesday, Oct 16, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Thursday, Oct 17, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Friday, Oct 18, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Saturday, Oct 19, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Exhibition: William Wegman: Outside In

Sunday, Oct 20, 2019 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Shelburne, VT
Read More »

Photos